Entry 007


Watching a Symphonic Band

I was still lucky I got to hear the last four repertoire pieces of the UP Symphonic Band’s “Ode to the Common Filipino” concert held at the Abelardo Hall Auditorium in UP Diliman. Luckier still, I was allowed to watch the performance for free (perhaps the good staffer thought of me piteous as I only have a few  music pieces to hear, so she signalled me to enter the auditorium, which I amiably followed).

Prof Rodney Ambat conducted the band. I saw and heard the UP Symphonic Band play “Dalampasigan” overture (by Maj Valentin Mechilina), “Ay Kalisud” trombone solo (arranged by Amando San Jose), “Lahing Kayumanggi” (by Lucio San Pedro), and “Dahil sa ‘Yo” concert march (arranged by Amando San Jose), plus an encore performance conducted by one of the band-member students.

As much as I do not want this to be a news report, I am inclined to mention the other pieces that night: “Basang Sisiw” march (arranged by Amando San Jose), “Veteranos de la Revolucion”, “Id Est” Bb cornet solo (by Pedro Navarro), “Sa Dakong Silangan” (by Col Antonio Buenaventura), “Col Loving” (by Col Walter H Loving, arranged by Felix de Leon), “Dakila Overture” (by VT Marqueses), “Dalagang Mahinhin” Bb clarinet solo (by Lucio San Pedro), then  “Dalampasigan”, “Ay Kalisud”, “Lahing Kayumanggin”, and “Dahil sa ‘Yo”.

In short, I regretfully missed seven pieces! Woe unto me!

I never expected that a band actually sounds good.  I stereotypical relegated band music to town brass bands that play marches and contemporary songs during fiestas and funerals. I was utterly bigoted. And I am embarrassed now.

I never imagined that the Philippine band music is rich in such repertoire. People only have the chance to appreciate these wonderful arrangements at these rare concerts. As we all know, popular (some are trash) music reign the airwaves and the concert scenes. This is the main reason why I allot time to watch such culturally-rich performances. They never fail to surprise and amaze me that past Filipino music is this great. (Too bad that those enthusiasts of this brand of music are in the minority, me included.)

By the way, I sneaked to record two music pieces. I hope you can make out the melody from my crude melody. And sorry, I do not have a picture of the event.

By the way, with my continuous ignorance of other instruments, I was often saying to myself, “So that is what a trombone looks and sounds like” or “So that is the clarinet and the cornet” as I later researched.

Nevertheless, it’s always something novelty to know and place in my knowledge depository.

I still have two events to look forward to, the UP Madrigal Singers in Abelardo Hall  and the Manila Symphony Orchestra in Philam Life Auditorium this November.

***

I also dropped by Centris Walk along EDSA corner Quezon Avenue before I went to my place in Makati on board the metro. For a long time, I was curious of the disk-shaped structures behild Centris Station in Quezon Avenue. So when I had the chance, I sought the place and took some nocturnal scenes.

Here are some of the pictures.

Several of the Centris Walk disks

Some of the Centris Walk disks glowing red

Centris Walk entrance

4 thoughts on “Entry 007

  1. You’re right! The more recognizable strains of Dahil Sa ‘Yo came towards the end. Their rendition sounds–and feels!–like one big fiesta! 🙂

    -steph

    • Yeah! And I want to hear more of them. Pro Rodney Ambat, the conductor, says it was the dream of one late music professor (I am not certain if it was Leopoldo Lopez) that the band community play a concert dedicated to Filipino patriotic songs. I love it!

  2. thank you for appreciating our music… Opo para nga po kay Prof. Leopoldo Lopez ang concert namin na iyon… Prof. Ambat is really working so hard para mas mapaganda pa ang quality of music ng Symphonic Band.

    • Wow! Sana makapanood pa ako ng ganoong music so often. Rarely lang kasi na naririnig siya at naiparirinig. I had a great time watching your performance kahit late ako. Kung meron pa pong ibang show, paki-abisuhan po ako, para masabi ko din sa iba. Thanks po!

I'd love to read your thoughts, too. Please leave a reply. ^^

