Entry 010


My Most Favourite Movie

I’m not a film buff nor a film critic but I love watching some titles whenever I have the time.

I usually intersperse movies with TV series; still everything depends on the time I allot myself for watching pleasure and convenience.

If I were to graph the films I watch, you would most probably notice a trend. I generally shun Hollywood films. Well, not really shun, but my inclination is toward Asian films, on in general sense, non-English films. That means I am bent on watching with subtitles. Accustomed should be the right term. But I do watch Hollywood films sometimes. In fact, my most favourite  movie is an American one.

The Cure movie poster

I first saw this when I was in grade school. This moved me to tears.  It is about how a memorable friendship is born from the most unexpected setting.

Barely a teen, Dexter has AIDS from a blood transfusion, and he is in a prejudiced situation. Erik is a neighbour who soon befriends him, disregarding the AIDS stigma. Both decides to find for the cure by boiling and concocting herbs and wild plants and letting Dexter drink it up. Later they decide to embark on a journey down the Mississippi River to reach New Orleans where someone has reportedly found a cure for AIDS. This short adventure makes them closer, strengthening the youthful relationship they have. This is my favourite line in the movie (setting: the two are camped out, beside each other and are about to sleep; Dexter tells Erik that sometimes he has nightmares of some sort):

Dexter: Suppose you kept going another 18 billion light years, what if there’s nothing out there? Suppose you kept going another trillion times further, so far out you see nothing. The light from the universe would be fainter than the faintest star. Infinitely cold. Infinitely dark. Sometimes if I wake up and it’s dark, I really get scared, like I’m out there and I’m never coming back.

Erik: Here, hold onto this when you sleep (giving Dexter his shoe). And if you wake up and you’re scared, you’ll say, “Wait a minute. I’m holding Erik’s shoe. Why the hell would I be holding some smelly basketball shoe a trillion light years from the universe? I must be here on earth, safe in my sleeping bag, and Erik must be close by.”

(Source: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0112757/quotes)

Whew! There was a pinch in my heart when I saw the movie again on DVD.

Not long after, Dexter is slowly succumbing to his illness and Erik has to call Dexter’s mum so she can fetch them by the bus. There ends their search. And Dexter now stays at the hospital where Erik visits frequently. They also manage to successfully make pranks on the nurses that Dexter is already dead. Until… it happens. Their last prank, but this time, Dexter rests motionless. Remorseful.

The movie ends when Erik puts his shoe in Dexter’s hands inside the coffin. It’s like an innocent pact of deep friendship. Erik will always treasure the memory he has with Dexter–a pretty brief one, just one summer–but I know, as a viewer, that it lasts a lifetime.

This is the power of film. The viewer gets engaged in the story. It intertwines with one’s experiences and becomes integrated with the being. For me, the affected me a lot. I always  remembered the friendship of the characters until I reach this young adult stage. It became a gauge and measurement for me of what friendship is (of course I have other bases). This film is an eye-opener for me, of what there are in life– mirth and sorrow, and that these are indispensable in one’s existence. I really appreciate that I live in a generation where this movie had been filmed.

By the way, I like some tracks of the OST used in this film. I learned that the music was brilliantly composed by Dave Grusin, who also composed numerous OSTs of other films. He is the music composer of “What Matters Most”.

The Cure (1995)
Directed by Peter Horton
Written by Robert Khun
Starring Brad Renfro, Joseph Mazzello and Annabella Sciorra

What is your favourite movie of all time?

6 thoughts on “Entry 010

    • Haha. Dapat nga isusulat ko lahat ng fave films ko sa isang blog entry lang. Kaso napansin ko nagkucuento na ako sa isang title pa lang, kaya naisip kong sa next entry nalang yung iba. Hahaha. Sana madagdagan pa yung magagandang films na mapanood ko. ^_^ v

  1. Irvin, try to see the French movie Love Me if You Dare (Jeux d’enfants)..im a bit romantic so, alam na..also, Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging.. its so hilarious, nka-relate ako khit lampas na sa age group/genre ko 🙂

I'd love to read your thoughts, too. Please leave a reply. ^^

