As I grope for words, I thought to post images instead. Lately I experience the difficulty of manifesting my thoughts in word form.

The Oblation was sculpted by Guillermo Tolentino, for me a brilliant man who could translate the abstract in corporeal form, something to marvel it more about. I’ve seen The Oblation from a lower vantage point, usually at its feet. With this view, I could only see part of its face. I was wondering for some time what The Oblation actually looks like–the countenance of that naked man, with eyes closed as if in prayer, offering himself. I hope I could, one time, behold its serene visage. Maybe only a few people have seen its face–probably the sculptor and his apprentices, and the ones who did the recasts and the replicas. By the way, the original one is stored in ¬†Gonzales Hall of UP, while the one in the conspicuous grounds of Quezon Hall is a bronze replica. (I wish to see all The Oblations; I hope I can have the opportune time and resources.

This is the green and maroon banner of the University. For me, this is a solemn combination of colours. Whenever I see these colours together, I feel at ease for an unknown reason, coupled with a feeling of an unending yearning to become great someday. It’s just a feeling.

The UP Carillon. I happened to hear this tolled the “UP Naming Mahal”. The pealing of the bells reverberated throughout the blue heavens. Then latter it played, rather the carillonneur, some Filipino standards. I think some of the bell-pitches sounded off. Nevertheless, it was still pleasant to hear.

Why is it I see unexpected colours during sunsets? I always see strong contrast between light and darkness. The colours are vivid and the shadows just as intense.

 

Bikers and joggers frequent UP for a quiet cityscape. The scene around may not be Oxford-like but I liken it to that.

I saw senior highs school students film a project, I supposed. Ah! I miss my youthful days.

This one is a solitary figure with his laptop. Being alone nowadays doesn’t really mean being alone. He might be, physically, but who knows, he might be connected to someone a quarter-of-a-world away. Technology really is amazing. I think our grandparents never imagined this sharing of personal information with the world could be possible when they were young. It’s easy to get connected with people, yes, but getting a steady attention from them is a different case.

People are busy, so don’t expect them to stay with you for a long time. If they do, thank them profusely.

 

I'd love to read your thoughts, too. Please leave a reply. ^^

