Kung Hindi Man (Translated)

Nicanor Abelardo may have lived a short life but he has contributed much to the formation of artful Philippine music, intertwining the local and Western. He is perhaps famous for his kundiman art songs, one of which is “Kung Hindi Man”, composed in 1920. For the PDF of the music sheet, click here → Kung Hindi Man.

And as a bonus, I made a singable translation of the song into English. Aptly titled “If I’m Not Worthy,” the translation mirrors the same dejected feeling of the song’s persona in the original Tagalog. I think the translation was close to the original in terms of imagery and story. I also followed the rhyme scheme ABAB, which is easier than the AAAA of the original. I am providing a vocal music sheet of the translation after the table. Take note that my work is not the official translation of the song. I am not aware if there exists one. I pray I did not commit sacrilege to this Abelardo canon.

Kung Hindi Man
Musika at titik ni Nicanor Abelardo

Irog sandaling dinggin ang aking pagtangis
Irog sandaling tunghan ang humihibik
Kung di man nararapat sa iyong dikit
Isang sulyap mo lámang, aliw na ng dibdib

Kung sa ’ki’y wala nang inilaang paglingap
At ang pagdurusa ko ang siya mong pangarap
Sa isang ngiti mong sa aki’y igawad
Libo mang kamatayan aking tinatanggap
If I’m Not Worthy
English translation by I.R. Arenas


My beloved, hear me out, my request for pity
My beloved, take a look at my tear-filled eyes
If I am not worthy of staring at your beauty
A glance from you is blissful still, enough to be my prize

If indeed I will receive not any regard from you
And this pain and anguish of mine are your source of pleasure
Just one smile I so desire, grant me take a good view
Should I die a thousand times, I rest with my treasure

I'd love to read your thoughts, too. Please leave a reply. ^^